That Time of Year

Late June and July have historically been dry times for me creatively. It starts slowly. Word counts decrease as distractions creep in. We always have friends come to visit around the 4th of July, and it takes a fair amount of prep to get ready for them. Then there are garden chores, weeds to pull, grass to cut. There are Scottish festivals we attend to represent Clan Campbell. Let’s not forget the Bristol Ren Faire–we have to do that a few times in the short summer months. It’s hard to think past the activity and prep work long enough to concentrate on whatever book I’m working on.

I actually didn’t put it together until yesterday. I was stomping around, irritated because the trash hadn’t taken itself out. I felt generally put out and started thinking about what I need to do to get ready for our friends, and resentment started to creep in. That was the moment I realized I was cranky because I haven’t been getting words like I want to. I’ve been in and out of the garret for a couple weeks, and it’s starting to wear on me, but it seems futile to try to get back into the rhythm when I’m going to have someone sleeping in my office soon.

I’m not sure about the solution, but I know there needs to be one. In the future, I need to try to finish the draft du jour by mid-June so I can pick up after the summer dry spell with a fresh project. I might also need to find another creative outlet for a little while. The best part is guilt about not getting any writing done is conspicuously missing. Well, okay, not entirely. It bugs me a little, but I’m not beating myself up over it. I’m not going to meet my word count goal. There might not be a month-end report this month.

The world will still turn.

3 comments on “That Time of Year

  1. Jean says:

    This is an important realization. You have a plan. You’ll now be able to adjust your writing schedule to complement this time of year. It’s important to be able to enjoy all aspects of life, and this will help.

  2. Jenn says:

    A sentence is written one word at a time. A paragraph is written one sentence at a time. And a book is written one paragraph at a time. Every word you get on paper (so to speak) puts you a step closer to the final result. Don’t give up.

    • Wendy says:

      I’m not giving up. I’m finally seeing and accepting the rhythm. Sometimes the words just aren’t there and you have to step away and crochet something.

Leave a Reply

