Gearing up

For the last few years, I’ve been on hiatus from writing conferences. I love going to them and being with kindred spirits. Individually, writers can be awkward and a little odd, but at a conference, we all get to be rock stars! There does come a point, though, when conferences and retreats and even local writers’ group meetings become a distraction.

In my case, I needed to step away and apply what I learned, but also, life intervened. Eric got laid off and we moved to Chicago. Then we moved twice more. (I don’t recommend moving three times in two years to improve productivity.) About the time I had to step away, I got involved with some projects with other writing friends, and I’ve learned a lot from them, so I haven’t missed the conferences.

Now I’ve broken the hiatus. I’m on my way to sunny Florida for the My Book Therapy Deep Thinkers Retreat. I’ve done it twice before and came home both times overloaded with info that took a few extra days to process. We’re doing things a little differently this time. There was homework to do ahead of time to get everyone on the same page (pun intended).

It officially starts tomorrow, so I’ll tell you all about it next week!

 

One comment on “Gearing up

  1. Looking forward to hearing your report!

Leave a Reply

