Warm(ish)

I don’t know about your part of the world, but Chicago has been unseasonably warm this winter. Strangely warm, like we’ve had to shovel twice. It’s so warm plants are starting to wake up.

So are gardeners.

To be fair, we usually wake up around this time. Usually, for me at least, it’s with a pang of panic that I haven’t started seeds yet. Then I realize I’m further north than I used to be, and I don’t really have to start them until early March. It is time, though, to start gathering supplies and think about how I’m going to lay out the garden this year. I had a lot crammed into a small space last year. I think this year I’m going to expand into pots. It will give us some breathing room, and if I do some tomatoes in pots, I can bring them inside in the fall and maybe extend the growing season. I’ll be able to devote garden space to other things, too. Maybe some squash.

My time in the city has made me wish we could get out into the country to start a homestead. The reality is the job is here. It’s a really good job.

I’ve realized in the last week or two I don’t have to wait to start homesteading. I can’t raise animals here. I don’t know if I want to raise animals at all. I don’t see myself being able to raise them and not get attached to them. I can, however, grow and preserve more of our food. Rain barrels are encouraged in our neighborhood, and I have space to compost. I can cook from scratch more, and get creative enough in the kitchen to work around having run out of something. I don’t need acres of land to become more self-sufficient. It’s probably good it’s worked out like this. If I had acres of land right now, I’d try to do too much. Baby steps are good.

2 comments on “Warm(ish)

  1. Jean says:

    Excellent point. You’ve mentioned several things that don’t require acres of land to reap benefits from. Our little composter was $20 at a swap meet and takes up almost no space.

Leave a Reply

