Home From The Pilgrimage

If you’ve been following this blog for a while, or if you follow me on social media, you’ve probably heard stories about the Alafia River Rendezvous. It’s a living history event held every year in central Florida. Thousands of people converge in what amounts to a huge field to camp, shop, and visit 18th century-style. My dad got me into it, and I’ve gotten Eric into it, now that he gets actual vacation time.

This year was a little different. I took my iPad and keyboard, and downloaded Scrivener for iOs so I could write while I was there. Mostly I wanted to have the option because it’s far easier for me to write daily than take time off and have to restart. It keeps my momentum up. The other reason was I wasn’t thinking when I signed up for an informal JanNoWriMo (similar to National Novel Writing Month, which is in November) organized by a Facebook group. I figured I could do 20,000 words instead of the 50,000 they require with NaNoWriMo. If I’d been home all month it would have been easy.

I did write about 5 times. My word count was about 3,800, so I didn’t get a ton done, but I did get the short story I was working on finished. Needless to say, I’m way behind on that 20,000 word goal. At this point I might make it, but since I finished what was the current story, I’m not positive. Regardless, I’ve written more this month than I usually do in January, so that’s something.

Here’s a few pictures of our vacation.

2 comments on “Home From The Pilgrimage

  1. Nita says:

    Looks like you had a great time. That tent would “almost” convince me to try camping, almost. I take it you’re not a paper and pen kind of person? I tend to write in notebooks when the computer isn’t available, even when it is sometimes.

    • wendyblanton says:

      Hey, Nita, living history is not low maintenance camping! It takes a lot of gear, but it is more comfortable than a futon on the ground in our tiny modern tent. I have written in notebooks and journals at rendezvous in the past, but I get more done with a keyboard. I can write about a page before my wrist cramps. I mostly plot/brainstorm/doodle with paper and pen.

Leave a Reply

