Mole Chili

You know that recipe I promised that won our church’s chili cook-off? The one I was going to post in the middle of the week? Here it is! I’m taking a break from working on the house (more on that in a few days) and thought I’d better do this while I was thinking about it.

I divided it between a large crock pot (for the chili cook-off) and a small one (for us). It should be pretty easy to scale back and adjust to taste. Oh, and about the the seasonings. I don’t measure. I dump, and you’ll want to adjust them to taste anyway.  I seasoned the meat when I browned it, seasoned the chili in the crock pot, and then, about an hour before we had to leave, I tasted and seasoned it again. I used a lot of cumin and somewhat less of everything else.

One other thing: wear gloves when you cut the peppers. Trust me on this. You’ll think you washed the juice off your hands, but you’ll be wrong, and when you touch your face you’ll get zinged. Seriously, I cried my make-up off. Learn from my folly. Wear gloves.

Mole Chili

2 lbs ground beef (I used 80/20 because it was cheap)

1 lb ground turkey

2 poblano peppers, diced and seeded

1 jalapeno pepper, diced and seeded*

2 large cans (22 oz? 32 oz?)** tomato sauce

1 large can diced tomatoes

1 can (16 oz) each pinto beans and kidney beans, rinsed

3-4 tablespoons powdered dark chocolate (I used Hershey’s)

Cumin, garlic powder, and smoked black pepper, divided to taste

Cook the peppers with the meat and some of each seasoning (including the chocolate).

Toss it all in the crock pot or dutch oven and cook at least 4 hours. I think mine cooked about 6.

That’s all there is to it. If you make it, let me know how it came out!

 

*If you want more kick, add another jalapeno or two. You can also leave the seeds in it to make it hotter, or substitute the jalapenos for habaneros if you want even more heat.

**I don’t have any in my pantry right now, but they’re the next size up from the 16 oz.

Leave a Reply

