The Process

I’ve kind of taken the long way around in this writer gig. Welcome to pretty much my whole life.

When I started out, I figured you write a story, send it out in the mail, and it gets rejected. You send it out again and eventually it gets published. I’m not alone in that; most new writers think that, and most of us figure out pretty quickly that it’s not that easy. There’s the whole problem of writing the story.

It’s taken me seven books and more than a decade to figure out what I think is the process. I’m still testing the hypothesis.

Part of the trouble is I want to be a plotter so bad I can taste it, but that’s not how it works for me. I can figure out the beginning and end, and some of the big parts in between, but I have to dig in and actually write the draft to find the whole story. That makes for a big mess to clean up, and I haven’t figured out how to deal with the mess. That’s why I have four drafts, representing, oh, about five years of work, on my hard drive to rewrite.

I’m going to try something new. Now that I have a fresh draft to work with, I’m going to write the long synopsis. Hopefully, that will give me the map to the manuscript. Stay tuned. It could get ugly!

Leave a Reply

