New Gig

I got an e-mail from a friend a week or so ago. My bard mentor, who performs at the Scottish festivals in Missouri, can’t make it to the first one this year, and she asked if I would fill in for him. Of course, I accepted immediately. It is a paid gig after all.

It took a whole two minutes for panic to set in. I really haven’t been barding that long, about 2 1/2 years. That’s not a lot of time to build up performing chops. My mentor sent me a bunch of new stories, though, and helped me work out sets for the kids’ storytelling sessions I’m scheduled to do. Now it’s a matter of prep work. I have a small repertoire already, and I’m going to add another half-dozen stories so I’m not telling the same ones at every set. There will be some overlap, but the stories he sent are ones he hasn’t told in a long time, so it will be new for the regulars who come to the festival every year. Maybe it will make a up a little for his absence. Not that it will be easy to learn six new stories in a matter of a few weeks. It’s rather like cramming for an exam I’m going to have to take over and over and over!

Here are the particulars, just in case you happen to be in the area:

Missouri Tartan Day

Frontier Park, St. Charles, MO

April 4-6

Have a look at the schedule to find out when you can come hear a story set. Hope to see you there!

2 comments on “New Gig

  1. Carol Baker says:

    You will do great, just relax a go with the flow.

  2. […] wrote a couple weeks ago about preparing for my first paid storytelling gig. I’m happy to say it all went very well. I had good crowds at almost all my sets, and I […]

Leave a Reply

