The Country Mouse

Among Aesop’s Fables is a little story about a country mouse who is visited by his cousin, the city mouse. The city mouse is dismayed by how little his country cousin has and invites him to his home in the city, where they can live together in abundance. The two mice go to the city, and the country mouse is astounded at the bounty, but they only just start their feast when a cat crashes the party. The two mice scurry off to safety, and eventually, the cat leaves. They come out and begin their feast again when another visitor (unnamed by Aesop) shows up and the cousins have to run for cover again. The country mouse decides he’d rather have a little in peace than abundance in danger.

I think there must be other stories based on this fable that expand on the adventures of the country mouse. Probably my grandmother read them to me when I was a child, and some of the details stuck with me. Whether those stories exist anywhere outside my imagination is a bit of research for another day. The point is, I’ve identified closely with the country mouse for the last several months.

Moving is hard. It doesn’t matter if you’re moving across the street or around the world. It’s a dirty, sweaty job, even if you’re not the one doing all the heavy lifting. I have quite a bit of experience with moves, having done it five times in the last seven years of Eric’s military career. Our move to Chicago has been unlike any other move we’ve had. Not only was it the first one in twenty years that we’ve done entirely on our own, it’s the first one we’ve made without kids since before we became parents. While not having to factor the kids in made some decisions a little easier, there were times I really wished the kids were around to lug stuff up and down stairs!

Since I know we’re not the only ones to come here chasing a job, I’ve decided to journal some of our experiences here. My hope is that somewhere, there are country mice who have to move to the city, and they’ll find my blog. It will likely be a combination of what I wish I’d known before we moved, and experiences we never thought we’d have. Some of the posts will be in my regular Monday spot, but I may slip in a few extras here and there, so if you haven’t already subscribed to my blog, you might want to consider it. You never know what you’ll find here!

Leave a Reply

