Snowmageddon 2014

What a way to start the year! I grew up in Michigan, so snow is nothing new for me, but I haven’t seen snow like this since I left home in 1986.

IMG_2219

It hasn’t just been the amount of snow we got, although it’s more than I’ve ever seen here. The fact that it’s not covering or covered by ice is highly unusual. What thrilled me were the drifts and the way the wind sculpted them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2218

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2246

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2222

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve never seen contrast like this.

IMG_2236

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here’s my boy to provide scale. He’s 6′ tall. You can also see it’s still snowing in this picture. It stopped a couple hours after I took these.

Today it’s sunny, but we won’t get above zero. The roads likely won’t be cleared until tomorrow. I have food, cat supplies, and coffee, so I’m set. Since I have plenty to do around the house to keep me busy, the snow is likely a huge blessing! Stay warm where you are.

2 comments on “Snowmageddon 2014

  1. Gail Helgeson says:

    Hi Wendy. Welcome to Narnia! The snow is beautiful isn’t it?! It is a great blessing that the wind chill here is about 30 below!! I get to stay in and write! YAY for winter! Cold is an understatement! Enjoy your day. Blessings. Gail

  2. goody2boots@charter.net says:

    Love your title!!!

Leave a Reply

