Almost missed it again!

But I didn’t! Ha!

Eric has been out of work nearly 6 weeks. Routines? Out the window, for the most part. I’ve tried to stick with my morning routine as closely as possible, and he’s been supportive of that since that’s when I get my writing in. He knows Wendy Must Write or Wendy Becomes Cranky. On the best of days, it all goes as it should, but there have been a lot of days in the last month and a half that have not been the best days. Take the week we were in Chicago. Eric was supposed to start work, but Congress changed our plans. The shutdown pushed his start date back, so we went house hunting, and you saw the results of that last week. Did I get any writing done that week? Yes. A little. Not every day. I was too far out of my routine.

Since my job ended, I’ve put regular things on my schedule to help me keep track of the days. Eric didn’t fully understand my need to keep my standing appointments until yesterday, when he commented that the only reason he knew it was Sunday was because I woke him up for church. Routines aren’t as important to him as they are to me. I need them to keep me organized and to help me remember to do things. It’s one of the things that comes with being an ADD girl.

As of right this minute, he starts his job Wednesday. That could change three times between now that then. This is his third start date, so you can see why I won’t be holding my breath. The end is finally in sight, though, or at least the first one is. We’ll start getting paid again. I’ll keep packing. Sooner or later, we’ll get to the new normal. It’s about the journey, not the destination, right?

Leave a Reply

