Seller Beware

We are in the process of clearing out clutter, and before Alex went back to school, I finally got him to go through the books he’s had since childhood. He expressed an interest in having some of Eric’s books, so I told him to put them aside and had Eric come up to approve it when he got home. Long story short, we cleared out a couple shelves of hardcover books, some of which we also had in paperback, in addition to the books Alex wanted. Because they are in great shape, I decided to try to sell them on Half.com. The process to list them was pretty easy, but when I searched for the books I could only find them in my store. They weren’t listed with the others of their kind. I went two rounds with their help desk and was told that I can e-mail the link to my store to my friends. I did post on Facebook, but it took three tries because Facebook didn’t like the link for some reason.

It’s been a month, and I’ve had no response at all. I will be cancelling my Half.com account and donating the books to our local library. It’s entirely possible that there is something in the process that I didn’t know about, some hidden key to actually getting them listed with all the others. I have neither the time nor the inclination to find it, especially since the help desk wasn’t helpful at all. The only positive thing I can say is that, although Half.com is powered by eBay, there were no listing fees. Maybe if there were, I’d have sold the books by now.

Leave a Reply

