Baking, burning, and flooding

As usual, the weather this summer is crazy. While we bake in the Midwest and farmers fret over the crops, Florida and southern Georgia are being flooded by Tropical Depression Debby, and at least half of Colorado is on fire. I have several friends in Colorado and Florida, and my heart aches for them.  I could despair, but today I’m choosing good over evil. I’m focusing on the cleansing properties of fire and water. It’s easy enough for me to say, right? It’s not my house in the path of the fire. The truth is, when I focus on the positive I can better encourage my friends who are directly affected. I’m too far away to be any real help. All I can do is pray, and let them know I’m praying. Later, when it’s over and the new normal sets in I might be able to help directly, but for now all I can do is stand by and watch the train wreck. My home isn’t affected (other than the power bills to keep the house relatively cool and the water bills to keep my garden alive), but I’m not change-free.

Last week, I read “Turning Pro: Tap Your Inner Power and Create Your Life’s Work” by Steven Pressfield, which I highly recommend to anyone in a creative field who needs to up their game. Turns out, going pro is entirely a head game. It’s the decision to go from amateur to professional and the changes in behavior that make a professional. It’s not the contract or the paycheck or the accolades. Those are outward signs, the fruit of the labor. To quote Pressfield, “The amateur Tweets. The professional works.” How’s that for short and sweet conviction?

I told you last month about some of the changes I’ve made already. I’m considering other changes, but I haven’t thought them through enough yet to talk about them. I will say that while it is a head game, there is also heart change. Books that would have bored me even a year ago are treasure troves now. Things that seemed vitally important have been put into perspective and given a lower priority. There is a new game plan, and while I can’t see all of it yet, I know it will become clear. To give credit where it’s due, most of the changes are because of things I’ve gleaned from My Book Therapy. Gotta give the hard working gals a plug!

While I’m ruminating, you can give me a hand. If there are things you want me to blog about, leave me a comment. Likewise, if there is too much of something, I’d like to know. I’ll take your suggestions and toss them into the mix of ideas I’m developing.

And please pray. Wildfires, drought, and flooding could combine to form disaster for us all.

 

One comment on “Baking, burning, and flooding

  1. Jean says:

    I, too, have friends (and some family) in Colorado and Florida, so I’ve been praying for swift and positive resolution to the fire. I love the restorative properties of both fire and water. Fire, in particular, is nature’s way of cleaning of and allowing new growth. It’s man’s path that interferes with nature’s good work.

    We visited friends in southern California, and he told us the fires in 2007 jumped over his house while destroying most of the neighbors homes in the area. He’d evacuated his family while he remained, running the sprinklers and fighting small stuff to keep as much together as he could. It’s only through the Grace of God that he wasn’t killed and their home wasn’t destroyed.

    I like your mix of personal interests and writing work on the blog.

Leave a Reply

