Alternate Novel Writing Month wrap-up

The skewed timetable should be a clue that things did not go as planned. Technically, tomorrow is my wrap-up day, but I’m calling it now. I have written 43,129 words (in 28 days) on “King Or Country.” I expect it will take another 15,000 or so to finish it off. My last writing day was Saturday because I’m busy getting ready to go out of town for my research trip to Rhode Island. Yes, the next project has interrupted the current project. I hope that won’t become a habit!

Overall, this has been a positive experience. It was the research trip that caused me to push my timetable back two weeks. It would have been smarter to do three, but I’m not often accused of being smart, especially with a computer engineer and two science majors in the family! (On the other hand, the computer engineer has me edit his grad school research papers, and the science majors often ask me how to spell things, so maybe I’m not giving myself enough credit!)

So that’s where it is. I’m calling it successful because it did get me in the habit of writing every weekday and some on the weekends. Mentally, I’m more focused and happier with the daily writing. I tend to get cranky when I haven’t written for a while. I’ll try it again when things settle down. August, maybe. My calendar looks pretty clear right now, and in August it’s too daggone hot to do anything outside, plus it has 31 days! Yeah, August is a definite possibility. Maybe by then I’ll have figured out how to write, do the dishes, and vacuum all in the same day!

2 comments on “Alternate Novel Writing Month wrap-up

  1. beckony says:

    Congratulations! I’ve tried NaNoWriMo for the past three years but never managed to get more than 20,000 words in a month. Although I do write every day it tends to be a rather small amount–currently my daily goal is 300 words. Doing this every few months could really be a huge writing booster.

  2. wendyblanton says:

    Thanks! I’ve done NaNo a few times, but the last time or two I’ve had life interference and didn’t finish. The goal right now is to establish good habits and learn to write on a deadline, and I have to keep reminding myself that Rome wasn’t built in a day!

Leave a Reply

