New Normal

Last week was surreal. I can’t think of a time aside from Christmas in the last seven years that I’ve not gone to work the whole week and been home with no company. I stuck to my 9-11 schedule and came back to the writing every afternoon and a couple of evenings, but I felt like I had so much free time. I didn’t work that many hours when I was working. I mean, really, I might as well not have been working because over the course of the time I worked there I averaged maybe 12 hours a week. A normal week was closer to 6. Last week, I felt like I had way more than 6 free hours. I’m not complaining. It just felt strange.

I had one week of grace before crazy kicked in. We’re having a partial remodel of our master bath this week. I have workers banging around at the other end of the house (which isn’t all that far!). My bathtub is gone, and hopefully by tomorrow night my new walk in shower will be ready for a test drive. I’ll post pictures when it’s done. I’ve got the before and some during pictures already.

I’m not entirely sure how the new normal is going to look over the long term. I hope it includes a lot of writing time. In fact, I’m purposely not making a big deal with people I see every day about my newfound free time. I’m trying to use as many of those hours to write now so I don’t fill them with stuff that’s not going to build my career. There are a lot of worthy things I could do with my time, but focus has never been easy for me. I have to be uber-intentional about it. The trick is to not go overboard to the point that I stop wearing clean clothes and cooking supper. There’s always something, right?

6 comments on “New Normal

  1. Jean says:

    Sounds like a good plan.

  2. Don’t tell people you have free time! I find people think I can do all sorts of things for them because I’m not working at a 9-5 job.

  3. Really hate that your blog is making me use my Facebook log-in. I’m sure WordPress is safe, but I don’t like linking my account anywhere else. šŸ˜¦ I have an old WordPress account that I may use next time. If I can find the log-in and password. šŸ™‚

  4. wendyblanton says:

    I don’t know why it’s doing that, Stephen. It didn’t do that before, did it? Or have you not commented here before? I haven’t changed any settings, and have no idea where to look for something WordPress may have changed. It’s annoying, though, because I ditched blogger for making glad to happy changes.

  5. No, it didn’t do it before. Otherwise, I would have complained! šŸ™‚

  6. wendyblanton says:

    Maybe you were signing in with your WordPress info before?

Leave a Reply

