Still Here!!!

Wow, how’d I lose three weeks? I guess technically I didn’t lose them. I just lost track of them.

So! In the last three weeks, I’ve been working on reorganizing my garden, enjoying spring break with my kids, and working at The Day Job, which won’t be an issue much longer since we’re shutting down for good in a couple weeks.

I’ve been writing, too. The first scene of the current book has been entered in the My Book Therapy Frasier Contest. I’ve started the fast draft and changed the title from “Honor” to “King Or Country.” I talked the title change through with Alex while he was home, which was cool. My babies have grown into rather insightful people if I do say so myself. I’ve also started early research for the next novel I’m developing. It will be set in the Gilded Age (late 1890’s), which will be a bit of a departure. I should have some interesting bit of information to post soon. I’ve only just started reading.

Oh, yeah, and I got my hair trimmed.

And we went to see The Hunger Games. Very cool movie, and it stuck closely with the big parts of the book plot. A lot of other details were changed, but it that’s to be expected. It was refreshing, actually, to see it as a spectator after reading the series and spending 1,200 pages, give or take, in the heroine’s head. I loved the whole cast, but I have to say I really loved Woody Harrelson. His interpretation of Haymitch is more loveable than the book’s. Stanley Tucci was great as Caesar Flickerman, too. This is a rare case in which I love the books and the movie equally for different reasons. It’s sort of like watching every version of A Christmas Carol because each Ebenezer Scrooge is the same but so different.

So that’s what I’ve been doing while I’ve been quiet. There hasn’t been anything earth shattering (except maybe a sneeze or two, what with the early spring), just day to day excitement. Anything new with you?

3 comments on “Still Here!!!

  1. Jean says:

    I have several books dealing with the Gilded Age, so I can help you a little with that if you want it. It’s an era that really interests me.

  2. wendyblanton says:

    That would help a lot, Jean. I’ve been having a hard time finding first hand research material, although biographies have been helpful. If you have anything that pertained to common people of the era, can you e-mail titles and authors? I’m finding a lot on the Astors, Vanderbilts, and Rockefellers, but I need some “downstairs” stuff, too.

  3. wendyblanton says:

    And yes, I have watched every episode of Downton Abby. Some of them twice. Or more. But it’s set in England, and I need the U.S. perspective. I mean, were American butlers really as strict as Mr. Carson?

Leave a Reply

