Alternate NaNo

NaNoWriMo was a bust for me last November. I was traveling and then had company, and I was generally way too distracted to get words in. Even if I’d had the time I couldn’t focus on it. I’ve always said that November is a lousy month for NaNo. Not only do we have Thanksgiving and the gear-up to Christmas, there’s only 30 days. Why choose a month with only 30 days? Choose February, for heaven’s sake. If you can do it in 30, you can do it in 28, right?

I’m hereby formally proposing an alternative. Join me in May for AltWriMo. I just double checked the calendar, and there are 31 days. The only major holiday is Memorial Day, which could work in your favor if you have one of those pesky day jobs. It likely won’t work in mine. I won’t have a pesky day job at that point, and the family will be home from work and school, so there’s no telling how much I’ll get done that day! However, Mother’s Day will work with my plan. I’ll just ask for a day with no interruptions and for someone else to bring me dinner. Cheap and cheerful!

At this point I haven’t figured out all the logistics, beyond choosing a month and deciding to stick with the 50,000 words. I’m just throwing this out there to see if there is any interest. If I end up playing by myself, it won’t be the first time!

This entry was posted in Writing.

2 comments on “Alternate NaNo

  1. Jean says:

    I do plan to do some writing on our Grand Tour, but I don’t think I’ll be in a position to play in full.

    I love the idea though. I will, of course, cheer you on!

Leave a Reply

