What? You didn’t know I’d left town?

Yup, I did! I went on my annual trek to the rendezvous in Florida. It was a little different this year because of Dad’s back surgery last September. They’re staying down there for a couple months, so we day tripped the rendezvous instead of camping. On the plus side, Eric flew down with me and stayed for the long weekend, which was a lot of fun. He’s been to rendezvous before, but the Alafia is in the same place and at the same time every year, and it’s huge. I think I heard they had around 1,300 campers this year. One of the really fun things was that the tin type photographer came back. Great timing, since Eric was with me! In case you missed it on Facebook, here’s the picture we took together.

Later in the week, Dad, Linda, and I went back to take a “new” family photo:

Yes, I’m Scottish in one and English in the other. I switched back and forth depending on how hot it was!

It wasn’t all fun and games this year. I did actually work a little. I read through what I have so far on “Honor” and, quite frankly, found it to be far more shallow than I want. I had time to think through some things to add in, but I’ve got to do some more research on the Rising before I make definite decisions.

In related news, I found out before I left that my day job is ending in April. The Boss has decided to retire, and if we don’t find a buyer for the restaurant, we’re closing it down. It was a shock at first, but we all agreed that it’s time to move on to something different. I liked office work and wouldn’t mind getting back into that, but I don’t really want to work full time. At this point, a flexible schedule (in terms of scheduling time off rather than shifting work hours) is more important to me than getting top dollar, and I suspect that might be hard to find, especially in this economy. However, I’m confident that if I’m meant to have that perfect job, it will become available at the right time. For now, I’ve decided to increase my work hours to 25-30 so when I do get the perfect job, it won’t be a shock. Since I can’t control the day job hours, I’m going to fill in with writing. Next week I have 22-25 hours scheduled (depending if I need to work a shower on Saturday). We’ll so how that goes. I’ve gone public with it now, so I’ll need to stay accountable!

Leave a Reply

