Easiest cookie recipe ever!

My friend Tammy posted a cookie recipe on her blog last spring. Because I had a specific recipe bookmarked, I didn’t see the more recent ones she posted until this week. Brilliant, I know. Here’s her recipe:

  • White cake mix
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 c. oil
  • 1/4 c. water
  • candy sprinkles to dip unbaked cookies in
  • Bake at 350* for 15 minutes.

She posted such a glowing report that I dug through my pantry and found a spice cake mix. They mixed up in under five minutes, so in about 35 minutes I had a few over 3 dozen cookies. (I used the small Pampered Chef scoop.) Frankly, they could use a little dressing up since I skipped the sprinkles, but they were tasty and would be great with an afternoon cup of tea. Or coffee, if that’s your thing.

What I really, really love about this recipe is the endless possibilities. You can use any cake mix, dress it up if you want to, and it will still be as fast. My next try will be a white or yellow cake with the zest and juice of an orange in place of the water. You could do white cake with lime for Cinco de Mayo, chocolate with candy hearts for Valentine’s Day (although a test run would be appropriate; I don’t know how the candies would do in the oven), cherry or strawberry for 4th of July, your favorite for Saturday. (You don’t celebrate Saturday?)

For my Weight Watchers partners, Tammy’s cookies are 1 point. Mine were a tad bit bigger and came out to 2. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I believe it’s time for a cookie and a cup of Earl Grey. Hot.

 

Leave a Reply

