Last multiple of 5 before the half century

It’s my birthday again. If you can do first grade made, you can figure out how old I am. I’m not celebrating today. No, I’m not procrastinating my birthday. I’m not THAT bad. I’m just putting it off (yes, I know that’s the definition of procrastination) until Saturday, when the Boys get here. I’ll be doing a little shopping in conjunction with the airport run, and we’re going to have dinner at The Scottish Arms. I mean, really, what girl in her right mind wouldn’t want to celebrate her birthday surrounded by kilts? Local friends, you’re welcome to come have dinner (and/or scotch) with us. We’ll be there between 5 and 5:30, and we won’t be staying real late. It’s not because I’m old. It’s because I have to be at church to play handbells at 7 a.m. Sunday morning.

Today, I’m cleaning and writing. Well, cleaning for sure. Writing in theory. So far I have scrubbed the kitchen and powder room floors. They were Gross, and mopping doesn’t get the edges well, so Mr. Clean (Magic Eraser), my bucket and I teamed up to get them nice and sparkly. If I had just mopped, I would take my Martyr Points and move on, but since I scrubbed on my hands and knees, I will forgo them for praise and adoration. *Looks at family*

In a little while I’ll go to the gym and swim, and after that I get to go grocery shopping. Then I can come home and write. I already have chili in the crock pot, and I may get motivated to put some frozen bread dough in the oven to have with it. Or maybe I’ll go crazy and get some Fritos while I’m at the store. I’ll only have to resist them tomorrow, when Alex comes home and can rescue me from what’s left after dinner. Ooh, or Grands biscuits! Or both!!

I believe I have a Good Will run in my near future, too. It’s easier to toss it in the van and take it over than it is to find a place to put it out of the way while company is here.

So that’s my day! Isn’t this how you want to spend YOUR birthday?

 

2 comments on “Last multiple of 5 before the half century

  1. Jean says:

    Great idea. Toss that stuff in the van and get it out of there.

    Sending praise and adoration your way for getting the floor scrubbing done. My knees ache in empathy.

  2. wendyblanton says:

    Thanks, Jean. The floor looks so much better, although the cats weren’t impressed when I put their food up and forgot to put it back down!

    I think the key might be to not wait until I have the last box full to take it all at once. That’s why it didn’t go earlier this week. I was working on one more box and walking around the two stuffed trash bags of clothes on the landing. From the standpoint of time or gas efficiency it doesn’t make much sense, but it might help me purge faster.

Leave a Reply

