Salvation!!!

Here in the St. Louis area, everyone is going a little crazy. The Cardinals made the World Series, and Game 1 is in town tomorrow. It’s going to mean awesome things for the local economy–ticket prices alone are exorbitant. We’re talking $400 for standing room only tickets. It’s practically “All Cards, All The Time” on the news, which is fine. If you’re a sports fan.

I’m not.

A week or so ago, Eric bought a new toy, and I’ve decided it’s part of what will save my sanity for the next couple of weeks, not to mention through the up-coming campaign season. He bought a Roku. Never heard of it? I hadn’t either. I know I’ll get corrected, but from what I can tell, it’s sort of like a cable box without the bill. It doesn’t get TV channels, per se, but you can watch TV shows and movies through Netflix, Amazon, and several other channels. I didn’t think too much about it until this weekend.

I had a migraine kick in while I was at work on Saturday. It’s been around for four days now. I’ve spent the best part of those four days on the couch, crocheting and watching Roku. I’ve watched the whole season of The Colony, plus Elizabeth (with Cate Blanchett) and two documentaries on nutrition and why fruits and veggies are so important. The documentaries were a lot more interesting than I’m making them sound. Well, one was. The other I sort of fast-forwarded through because they went off on tangents about how current agricultural practices and big drug companies are killing us all. Not that I disagree; they were preaching to the choir and not telling me what I wanted to know.

Anyway. Roku. He picked it up for under a hundred bucks at Best Buy, and it’s all commercial free. Not all of the shows are free. Some have rental fees, but I haven’t seen anything yet for more than $2.99. Not that I’ve paid to rent anything yet. I’m still exploring the free stuff. The best part, though, is that it’s baseball- and politics-free.

Aside to Cards fans: Yes, it’s true, not all of us adore the Cards. Some of us root for the Tigers just to be cantankerous. Be happy there are a few of us around who don’t like baseball. More tickets for you.

One comment on “Salvation!!!

  1. annette says:

    This made me smile….for two reasons, I am not against baseball, but there are bigger things and second, I love the movie, Elizabeth! 🙂

Leave a Reply

