Apprenticeship

Sometimes I’m just in right place at the right time, and the right words pop out of my mouth before I have a chance to censor myself.

We went to the Highland Games in St. Louis today. Wandering into the Clan Campbell tent, we struck up a conversation with the people and discovered that the man we were talking with is a Campbell bard. He was, in fact, the only bard at the Games. I don’t remember what we were talking about when, without thinking, I said, “I’m a writer. I’ll be your apprentice.”

“Done,” he said, and that was that.

I didn’t set out today to become a bard, but that was apparently my mission! My first assignment is to research Boadicea (or as she’s better known here in the States, Boudicca) and tell her story in her voice. Once I’ve successfully tackled Boadicea, we’ll move on to Maeve, and then Grace O’Malley. All three of them are strangers to me right now, but that won’t last. I see lots of fodder for my new Useless Bits of Information category!

3 comments on “Apprenticeship

  1. Joy Boots says:

    Wow! There are no ‘accidents’ or coincidences – what an opportunity!!

    I am so proud of you!

    Love, Mom

  2. Bard Wendy? Wendy the Bard? Hm. What does your business card say?

  3. Wendy says:

    Stephen, at the moment my business card says “Historical Fiction Writer.” I haven’t thought far enough ahead to the Bard Wendy stage to decide if I need a more dramatic bardic name. My mentor’s name is Jeff, so maybe not!

Leave a Reply

