Be it ever so humble…

Yeah, you know the rest. We got back early this afternoon, “we” being Eric and me. He came to St. Louis Friday after work and stayed the weekend with me. Since I’d been out of town several days prior to leaving for the conference, it was nice to have a little time to relax in the evenings and get caught back up.

The conference rocked. I got my money’s worth on the paid crit. There was enough purple ink on those pages to cause a flashback to high school! It was a little disheartening at first because I felt like I was ready to start agent shopping. Nope not so much, not yet. However, I did meet another historical writer who lives near here (maybe 10 miles away) so there’s hope for another crit partner. My online CP’s are great, but a local one would add more immediate accountability.

Between the paid crit and Randy Ingermanson’s Snowflake class, I’m ready to jump into the revision of Hope And A Future first thing in the morning. Tonight I’m trying to readjust to a world where ‘snowflake’ isn’t a verb. Funny how quickly I get used to my alternate reality hanging out with other writers! It was such a great time to focus on my art (and remember why I love it), and at least for tonight, I’m not exhausted and brain dead like I usually am. Of course, I did skip my last session yesterday to get a power nap before getting ready for the banquet, and I slept two more hours in my own bed this afternoon. That and dinner have helped a lot. It also helped that the trip home was half an hour instead of several hours. Next year it’s in Dallas, so the trip home will be at least a full day, depending on whether we fly or drive.

I’m going to try to post a few pictures tomorrow. I got a shot of Eric with Chip MacGregor in their kilts. I didn’t even notice at first that they were both wearing the same tartan. Chip had packed his Black Watch by mistake! Eric got more attention than I did last night, which was a lot of fun. I was notable only because I had a Black Watch shawl to wear with my dress.

For right now, I’m off to watch some Criminal Minds in my jammies.

5 comments on “Be it ever so humble…

  1. tambo says:

    Glad you had a great time! Welcome home! {{huggs}}

  2. Sounds like you had a wonderful time. Glad it was a good trip.

    I’m curious about what the crit said. If it’s not too personal, can you share?

  3. Wendy says:

    It wasn’t personal at all. Part of it was formatting, stuff I should have known but didn’t think about when I was putting my submission together. I double-spaced the synopsis, which I’m pretty sure I saw to do online, but she said it should be single-spaced. I’ll have to look it up again to see if I was right or I assumed it was supposed to be double-spaced. The rest was largely suggestions for adding emotion and descriptors. Apparently, letting the characters talk amongst themselves is frowned upon if they’re just talking. I’m supposed to use dialogue beats and action to add color and emotion and describe the setting and characters.

    She was really very sweet and encouraging. Most of what she said were valid points, other things I’m not sure I agree with but I might be able to do better.

    If you’re really interested in the gory details, I can make a copy and send it to you.

  4. Yes, gory details, please!

  5. Wendy says:

    Stephen, I added to my To Do list to send you a copy. If you don’t get it in another week or so, you might want to remind me!

Leave a Reply

