7 Weeks

Actually, it’s 8 weeks, but I have extenuating circumstances. That’s how long I have before I need to be ready for the ACFW Conference. It’s in my stomping ground this year, so I won’t have to spend a lot of money traveling. I will be staying on site, though, because conferences wear me slam out, and driving back and forth would not be the smartest idea.

The reason I’m losing a week is that my dad will be having back surgery two days before the conference starts. In Michigan. Good thing I’m used to the change to the change! The plan is to have everything ready to go before I head up to Michigan. I’ll do what I can for him until mid-day Wednesday, and then I’ll come home. The conference doesn’t actually start until 3:00 Thursday, so if I’m not too excited, I’ll be able to sleep late Thursday and head to the conference in plenty of time.

In the grand scheme, it’s not a big deal, and when I talked to Dad, he told me that under no circumstances should I miss the conference on his account. It’s some extra planning and time on the road, and I can go back up in October if he needs adult supervision. It’s too early to say how all that will shake out.

So, I have 7 weeks to:

  • Send off my paid crit (that’s actually due in about 3 weeks)
  • Finish editing “Hope And A Future”
  • Do the one-page
  • Write and memorize my pitch
  • Put together outfits and pack
  • Print/order business cards

Totally do-able.

One comment on “7 Weeks

  1. […] home, and I’ll be gearing up to travel. I leave a week from Saturday to head to Michigan for Dad’s surgery, and when I get back, it will be time for the conference. I’ve got the first draft of my […]

Leave a Reply

