Weeds and rodents

After several busy days, I looked out the back window and noticed a few weeds popping up in my garden. I didn’t think I would be able to get them today; a thunderstorm at 3 a.m. and another one at 8 gave me that impression. However, we had a break in the action, so I put on my gardening shoes and headed out with no small amount of trepidation. The weeds in the first bed weren’t too bad, but my resident vole has eaten his way through all my lettuce, my two volunteer tomatoes, and the leaves of my sweet potatoes (which, by the way, I planted mainly because the flowers are pretty). He didn’t touch the weeds. Go figure.

When I got that done, I figured I’d better go around the corner and check the strawberries. I have trouble with weeds and grass in that bed, too, and it’s easier to get them when the soil is wet. In that bed, I had a lovely, verdant crop of grass. The bed looked like it needed to be mowed. The whole time I was hacking and pulling, I was wondering, why am I gardening again? Oh, right. Exercise and sunshine to boost my vitamin D. Because I’m not stiff enough from swimming and yoga. Let’s not forget that what comes out of my garden is the only thing I eat that I know without a doubt is pesticide free. I’m sure not doing it for fun anymore, boys and girls, I can assure you of that.

Special note to Mom: I did take a minute to pull grass, clover, and alfalfa out of the back flower bed. It’s not as bad as it could have been. Certainly not as bad as my strawberry bed. There was a new weed out there, too. I don’t know what it is, but it has thorns. No, I didn’t put it in the compost.

I still need to refill water globes, but with all the rain we have had, I expect that can wait until after supper.

3 comments on “Weeds and rodents

  1. Joy Boots says:

    I am very impressed – I truely know how you like yard work!! Maybe we can put some ‘stops’ to keep the vile out of you garden.

    See you soon, Love, Mom

  2. Jean says:

    Walking the yard every morning and digging sticker burrs counts as gardening to me. Half an hour yields 4 points. Now, isn’t that more fun than swimming?

  3. Wendy says:

    Pbth! I only get 2 points for 30 minutes of gardening! Or 20 minutes of swimming. Swimming is a better yield for me, and it’s not as bad as I thought it would be since I share a lane with Eric.

Leave a Reply

