Love Hate

I’ve been doing Weight Watchers for a little over three months. I’m pleased with my progress, especially since I rarely feel hungry or deprived. A little over three weeks ago, Eric broke down and joined me. Having done South Beach together a few years ago, I knew what to expect, but it didn’t soften the blow much when he told me how many points he gets a day (almost double what I get) or how many extra points he gets for exercise (more than double mine). He has learned not to tell me how many pounds he’s lost; he just tells me the number on the scale, and I say, “Good job, honey!”

This morning, he had what I can only call a lapse in judgment. We were driving to the Y, and he told me it was an exciting day for him; that for the first time, he would earn 50 Activity Points. Then he laughed at me when I flipped him off. He does that a lot, actually. It’s to the point that all I have to do is say, “Mackinaw*.”

Don’t get me wrong. I’m glad he’s losing weight. He’s at risk for diabetes, his cholesterol is high, and his knees have been giving him trouble for years. He’s already feeling healthier, for which I’m grateful because I’m not done with him yet. And let’s face it, if something is too hard, there is increased risk for giving up.

But does it have to be THAT easy for him? Really?

 

*You’ll probably have to zoom out on the map a little.

One comment on “Love Hate

  1. Jean says:

    I don’t get the joke (I guess it looks kind of like a finger?). I’m glad he decided to join you. As he loses weight, he’ll get fewer and fewer points per day (I just lost another one this week). When you have a lot to lose, it can seem very easy to lose weight once you get going with it. I can assure you, as Eric and I get closer to our desired/healthier weight (like you already are — remember, you started when you did so you wouldn’t HAVE to go through what we’re going through — smart move with the added benefit of inspiring others), it will get just as challenging for us. Then, Eric will understand what you’re going through and maybe he won’t be so annoying (not that that helps at all right now!). Or, maybe he will be. He is, after all, a man. 😉 (Love ya like a brother, Eric!)

    He meant 50 Activity Points for the week, right? That is pretty exciting. I’ve been averaging about 47 a week for the last month. The yard work really adds up — 2 hours of mowing yesterday didn’t hurt.

    I know you’re thankful he’s moving and improving his health. Focus on that. And know you’re doing great, even if it doesn’t always feel that way.

Leave a Reply

