So long, May!

It’s the last day of the month, and usually I’d be saying something like, “June? Already? Wait, wasn’t it just February?”

Not so much today. May was crazy. Between family coming for Vicky’s graduation (and getting ready for them to come), the kitten going into heat, Alex moving home for the summer, and jury duty, there hasn’t been a normal week all month. Add in the crazy weather (hot, cold, wet, dry and tornadoes) and all I can say is that I’m not sad to see the back end of May. I’m frazzled enough that I just realized I re-scheduled a haircut (which was supposed to be today, except I had one more day of jury duty) on Thursday at exactly the same time I’m scheduled to have acupuncture. There’s another phone call I have to make tomorrow.

It hasn’t even been a bad month. A lot of it has been fun. We’ve been to St. Charles twice, and yesterday we went to the Renaissance Faire in Wentzville. (Pictures of that to come soon!) I finagled an invitation to the next St. Andrews Society social, which could be the start of another facet of living history, Scottish-style. I’ve even gotten some knitting and crocheting done. Not much writing, but some very interesting research has crossed my desk. I have lots of notes.

Now that I’ve had a chance to settle a little and look at the calendar for June, it really doesn’t look like there is much improvement. I’m working a lot. Family is coming back at the end of the month for Eric’s graduation, and the next week, the Boys come. Already.

Again, there are fun things, like the previously mentioned social, and the spring rendezvous at Fort de Chartres this weekend. I have to get some writing in, and the garden isn’t going to weed and water itself. Oh, and I have a vole who is helping himself to all of my lettuce that I need to deal with.

Actually, after the first week of July, things might quiet down some. I might get a little boring in this summer after all. Maybe not, but a girl can hope, can’t she?

Leave a Reply

