Jury Duty

Over a month ago I got a letter telling me it was my turn to perform my civic duty. I’ve been on call for Federal jury duty all month, which worried me a little, what with graduation and family visits and all. I went three weeks without having to report, but I won’t go four. I am on my way to the Federal courthouse right now.

Most people do their best not to get chosen for a jury. I’m good with it if I do get chosen. I’ve never been on a jury (not even in the mock trial we did in high school) and I’m curious to see if it’s anything like TV. I know that sounds hokey, but I’ve probably spent years of my life watching Law & Order in its various forms. I would say I’m wondering if Federal prosecutors are as hippy-dippy liberal at Jack McCoy, but having worked for a short time at the Department Of Justice, I know they’re not. Not all of them, anyway. There was maybe one lawyer in our office who was. I never got to see them in action.

I’m sure I won’t be able to blog on specifics, at least not right away, but I’m going to be in a Federal building in a not-so-great part of town. I’m sure I’ll have lots of blog-worthy people around me. Stay tuned.

One comment on “Jury Duty

  1. Jean says:

    I’ve received the notice several times but was always on active duty stationed far away. I’ve been ready and willing for three years and haven’t been called yet, but I’m sure my turn will come back around — probably in October or next May when we’re planning to be out of town.

Leave a Reply

