Humbled

I have been making it a habit lately to try to help strangers in need. When I see people on the side of the road with a sign, I give them money if I have it. I don’t carry a lot of cash with me, so usually it’s just a couple of bucks, but no one has ever been ungrateful.

One Sunday after church, we hit the Burger King drive-through, and while we were approaching the light to turn for home, we saw a woman with a sign. All I had in my wallet was a ten, but I rolled down the window and called to her. She was thanking me before she got halfway to the car. I was looking at her face when she saw the bill I held. A look of shock passed across first, and then her whole face lit up like it was Christmas morning. She thanked me several more times before returning to her corner. The light changed and for a few minutes, neither Eric nor I could say anything.

She was so thrilled to get a lousy ten bucks. She looked like I’d made her whole day by giving her something that I, frankly, haven’t missed. My heart broke for her, and I know nothing about her. I know there are a lot of people in this area who need help. Our church helps dozens of people every week. I have no concept of how desperate you have to be to stand on a corner with a sign, and I don’t want to know.

I have known for a long time that we are blessed, which is why I try to help when I can. There, but for the grace of God, go I.

Leave a Reply

