Conference report

I’m tackling this early since I still seem to be affected by conference lag. (It’s like jet lag without the jet.) I hope to be past that in the next couple of days. I was going to do this yesterday, but I put it off until my brain shut down.

Since this was my second time at Quad-Cities, I got to reconnect with some friends I made last year. Many of them I friended on Facebook last year, so I was able to keep up with them somewhat. That made getting together in person a lot more fun. We got to dispense with the “How have you been” niceties. Of course, I made new friends this year. Most of the new friends were with me in class, and since Susan May Warren has a web community, we’ll be able to keep up with each other and brainstorm together. Susie May jokingly called us the mob, and I have to say they’re a seriously cool group of people (and not just because they’re writers).

The other highlight was the keynote address by Dr. Gail Hayes. I had dinner with her before her keynote and found her to be a very down to earth, Godly, tell-it-like-it-is-and-don’t-mince-words woman. She is also very transparent; she doesn’t hide her past. Her point that affected me the most was when she quoted Romans 8:17, which talks about believers being joint heirs with Christ. I think you all know by now I tend to be pretty laid back. Maybe oblivious is a better word. I never thought to question that or wonder about it, but Dr. Gail did. She searched and searched the bible for proof of our joint heir status. Finally, she told God he was going to  have to point it out, and He did. It’s in Revelation 12: 11, which says, “They triumphed over him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony; they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death.”

That’s especially good news for people who communicate with a large audience (or hope to, like me). The Anti-Christ will be defeated by the blood of the Lamb (which I always assumed was sufficient) and by the words of believers. I have had the head knowledge that words have power for a long time. Now I have the heart knowledge.

Any of these things would have been worth the price of admission. Any of these things would have seen me home renewed, energized, and eager to get back to work. I was triply blessed.

One comment on “Conference report

  1. Mom says:

    Wow! You certainly had some ‘revelations’. It is always a fruitful time of fellowship when we share interests and especially the Lord. I am very proud of you!! Keep up the good work and enthusiasm – I would expect nothting less from you – this is who you are and it truly pleases me.

    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

