Gearing up

I’m in the process of getting ready for the Quad-Cities Christian Writers’ Conference later this week. It was so good last year that I’m going back. This year, instead of taking classes with different people, I’m going to do one intensive class with Susan May Warren. I took one of her workshops at the national conference last fall, and I was excited to see she was coming to Quad-Cities.

Of course, there are things to be done in preparation for any traveling, even a short trip like this one. Tomorrow I’ll be running errands and likely doing a fair amount of cleaning. Tuesday I’ll be in St. Louis at the Apple store learning the basics of web design. I want to get my site rebuilt but the tools I have available are less than helpful. I’m going to give iWeb a shot, especially since I can take the classes free. (Not really free; I paid for a year of training when I bought my Mac, but they feel free when I take them!)

On the health front, my weight loss is stalled at 10 lbs. but I’m still losing inches, so I’m not worried. I have a couple pairs of jeans I can fit back into, and one pair that I grew out of has gone into a Good Will bag. Eating at home is no problem, although it’s getting a little monotonous. Stir-fry is my back-up recipe, and we’ve been having it a lot because I’m just not coming up with anything else that sounds good. Eating out is a little more problematic, although I’m learning to look things up on line before we go so I can make smarter choices. I can see why people who eat out a lot have more struggles with their weight. Some of the things I’ve ordered without prior research have turned out to be bad choices.

So that’s about all that’s going on here. So exciting I just can’t stand it.

2 comments on “Gearing up

  1. Jean says:

    I began playing with iWeb for our website re-design. If I were ready to put our site up, I’d feel comfortable doing so. I like the program, and I’m disappointed that if you get your iLife from the App Store you don’t appear to be able to get iWeb (that may not be a big deal since it comes with every Mac sold).

  2. Mom says:

    Jim Pence is wonderful. They say a picture is worth a thousand words – well this picture leaves one speechless. He is very much worth viewing. He puts things into the proper perspective – we can do nothing without Him.

    Have a safe and productive trip. Hope you and Mac get along!!!

    LOL, Mom

Leave a Reply

