Progress

I just reviewed my last few posts and realized I didn’t mention here that in an effort to get a handle on my health, I joined Weight Watchers. So far I’ve lost 8 pounds and hope to be back in my “skinny” jeans next week. I really like the system, mostly because it’s helping me to think through what I eat. I made decent choices before so it’s mainly refinement. The biggest challenge is getting enough protein in the morning. I tend to be a carb girl, so I lean toward cereal or whole wheat waffles, and they don’t stick very long. I’ve started doing fritatas, and one will last 3 or 4 days, so that helps. I have also been going faithfully to my yoga classes and am planning to add either walking the perimeter of the neighborhood or the treadmill at the gym a couple more days a week.

Progress with the story has been slower, but it’s still moving. I have the next story brewing and have ordered some research material that should be here in a few days. I’m going to plot the next one more thoroughly. The snail’s pace progress of the current project is so frustrating.

My grandcat, Jeli*, is living with us. I have been assured that it’s temporary, but I have my doubts. The boyfriend has been temporarily displaced from his home and supposedly, once he gets settled again, she’ll go back to his place. In the meantime, she’s getting acquainted with my herd, and they’re being firm about keeping her at the bottom of the pecking order. So far the only thing we’ve had that looks like a disagreement was when Jeli jumped on the futon earlier tonight and startled Chloe, who was sleeping there. All in all it’s been much smoother than I thought it would be.

 

*They couldn’t decide whether to name her Jezebel or Lillith, so I suggested they do both and shorten it to Jeli. I don’t know if they call her that when I’m not around, but that’s the name I’m sticking with.

5 comments on “Progress

  1. Jean says:

    Three or four DAYS? Are you sure you don’t mean hours? I am still amused that we both arrived at that choice for breakfast independently of one another.

  2. tambo says:

    Frittatas rule! Glad Weight Watchers is working for you. Between you and Jean, I might have to look into joining. {{huggs}}

  3. wendyblanton says:

    Nope, I don’t mean hours. I divide my frittata into quarters, each one piece and stick the others in the fridge. I can heat and eat a quarter of a frittata in the time it takes to toast my whole wheat Eggo.

    Tammy, we’d love to have you. Then we can all gang up on Stephen!

  4. awfindingjoy says:

    ww rocks! good for you! 🙂

  5. wendyblanton says:

    It does rock! Great to see you here!

Leave a Reply

