“The King’s Speech”

I did something the other day that I haven’t done in many years–I went by myself to see a movie in the middle of the day. The last time I remember doing that was in 1989 when “The Little Mermaid” came out. This time, it was a grown-up movie!

It’s hard to say what I loved the most about “The King’s Speech.” There was the dry British humor without being raunchy. True, there was some swearing, but it was therapy, and frankly, it was frigging hysterical. Colin Firth did such a good job. I ached for him in the beginning, when he couldn’t even tell his daughters a story without stammering. In the last speech I hung on every word and wept with Queen Elizabeth (the future Queen Mum, not the current Queen Elizabeth) when he finished. Maybe it’s because it was historical. It’s not the period I usually go for, but still historical, which is always a selling point for me. Then again, it could have been the insight into King George VI’s early life and the realization that even one born a prince could be neglected and unloved.

Helena Bonham Carter was fabulous as Queen Elizabeth. She goes out of her way to help and protect her husband and strikes the perfect balance between royal and person. When she tries to enlist the help of Lionel Logue, using the name Johnson (which was the name the Duke of York used aboard ship in the Royal Navy), Logue tells her to have “her hubby pop by for a little chat.” She tells him, “I don’t have a hubby, we don’t pop, and we never, ever discuss our personal lives.” When Logue tells her that’s the way it’s got to be if she wants his help, she casually asks, “What if my husband were the Duke of York?”

I was fairly certain I would enjoy the movie when I went. I didn’t expect to spend two hours completely enchanted. I give it a big double thumbs up, a gold star, and a nice cuppa tea with a biscuit.

One comment on ““The King’s Speech”

  1. Jean says:

    I’ll keep this in mind. I don’t usually pay much attention to current movies. Of course, this means I miss some gems. This sounds interesting.

Leave a Reply

