Snow

I’m going to catch flack about this with some of my friends. I think I may be one of the few people who isn’t sick of winter yet. So far this season, we’ve gotten about 9″ of snow and probably 3″ of ice. The ice I can do without, but I’m good with the snow. We could get a lot more and I’d be a happy girl. This is the closest to a proper winter that I’ve had in years.

I grew up in Michigan, and while we were too far away from a Great Lake to get any lake effect snow, we got our fair share most years. A couple inches of snow didn’t slow us down. I think it took at least 6″ overnight to cancel school. (I could be wrong about that–it’s been a long time.) Snow in the forecast meant you went to the garage to dig out the shovels and check the gas can to see if there was any left over from the lawn mower to put in the snow blower.

When I left home and found myself stationed in eastern North Carolina, I was a little shocked at their reaction to snow in the forecast. It was newsworthy that the stores were selling out of bread and milk when the word “snow” was mentioned. Anything more than a couple of inches shut everything down, and of course there were no snow plows. It was North Carolina. We had one decent winter in Virginia, and it did snow briefly once or twice in south Texas. Snow in Del Rio warranted a call to Grandma, and Grandpa wanted to know where we’d gone that it was snowing! By then, of course, it didn’t surprise me that people hit the grocery stores when snow was predicted.

It still doesn’t, although I thought for sure, being back in the Midwest, that people would deal with it better. Nope, there’s still a rush to the grocery stores. I have done it myself more than once, not because I’m afraid to get out in the snow, but because I don’t want to be out there with the people who can’t drive in it. I usually wait out the first day, sit in my living room with the fireplace on and a hot beverage close by. I let the panic settle. After that, all bets are off. I don’t let it get in my way. Someday I would like to live somewhere again where there is snow on the ground all winter, or close to it.

It’s crazy, I know.

4 comments on “Snow

  1. Jean says:

    I’m with you! Of course, that’s a very unrealistic hope here in Central TX, but where you are? Perfectly acceptable.

    I’m beginning to think we didn’t notice the store selling out thing when we were kids, because mom or dad (mostly dad in my day) picked it up on the way home from work. We kids were probably too excited about snow to notice dad coming in the door with a bag of groceries.

  2. wendyblanton says:

    Oh, yeah, that’s a possibility, but I don’t remember seeing store shelves emptying on the news. Not that I remember many newcasts from when I was a kid. The only one I remember clearly was when we had sub-zero temperatures and the weather man warned women to be careful about wearing dangly earrings. I think it had something to do with frostbite on the neck if the earrings came in contact with bare skin or something. That was only, oh, about 30 years ago.

  3. Henry Taylor says:

    What a delightful read! Thank you for sharing your growth in messaging.

  4. Mom says:

    You are welcome to come back to Michigan – and yes, if the wind is out of the east – we do get lake affect snow – many times those are our biggest snowfalls. Of course if you really want snow move to the west side of the state!!!

    We have at least 15″ of snow on the ground right now – it is beautiful!!

    Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

