Assimilated

I think I posted back in September that I won in iPad at the American Christian Fiction Writers’ Conference. Prior to that, Apple had been nothing more than a line of overpriced toys as far as I was concerned, but of course the iPad changed that.

Lately, the Compaq I bought late in 2009 when my Dell died has been acting up. It’s been slow and sometimes not booting up the way it should. I had been thinking about making the switch to Mac for a while based on what my writer friends had been saying about theirs, and based on the fact that some really cool writing software is available on Mac but not (yet) on PC. Eric has been staunchly anti-Mac for a long time (it’s too expensive!), but I had some money tucked away and decided to take the plunge.

Long story short, we went to the Apple store yesterday, and I came home with a new 21.5″ iMac. I also bought the service that would transfer my data from my PC to my Mac and provided a year of training not only on the Mac but also on all the other Apple products. Today I took both computers back to the Apple store to have the data migration done, only to find that I would have to leave both of them there for three days–not an option! I brought them home and am doing the migration myself. I figure I’ll take enough classes to make it worth what I paid. We didn’t come home with just my stuff, either. Eric got to talking techie stuff with the guys there and ended up getting a bigger/stronger/faster/meaner iMac than mine is.

As we were waiting to check out today, I told him that now they only have to assign his number and put him in a pod, and he’ll be a full fledged member of the Collective.* Somehow I don’t think he minded my teasing.

*Non-Trekkies won’t get the reference to the Borg in Star Trek: The Next Generation.

2 comments on “Assimilated

  1. Congrats to both of you! Jim was close to coming into the Mac fold when we were researching for me three years ago. His Sony Vaio was only a year old, and it’s been running well, so he’s back to thinking he’ll replace it with the same when the time comes. Guess we’ll see what happens!

Leave a Reply

