Going anti-pink until November

Let me start with a disclaimer, although if you know me at all, you won’t need it.  You’ll just nod and laugh.

I’m stubborn.  Tell me I have to do something and I’ll most likely dig in my heels to avoid it unless you give me a good reason.  I should probably have been named Jenny, which, according to Grady Ward’s thesaurus, is another word for mule.

It’s Breast Cancer Awareness month.  I’m all for finding a cure for breast cancer.  My grandmother beat it over 40 years ago, so it’s her fault I have to get a yearly mammogram already.  What’s chapping my hide is seeing pink everywhere.  Little pink ribbons are on products all over the stores, party plan companies have special pink products, but the straw that broke the camel’s back for me was that they’ve started shining pink lights on the white house.  It’s being crammed down my throat, and I don’t like it.

It’s more than that, though.  Yes, we need a cure for breast cancer, but what about colon cancer?  Or brain cancer?  Oral cancer?  Leukemia?  Melanoma?  For pity’s sake, liver and pancreatic cancers are far more deadly than breast cancer, and we don’t have a month or a color for those.

For what it’s worth, I want to challenge the Susan G. Komen Foundation to expand their horizons a little.  They’ve done such a great job turning everything pink for October that it shouldn’t be hard for them to expand into other types of cancers.  Let’s start with the ones that are killing the most people, shall we?  When they do that, I’ll stop boycotting pink in October.

This entry was posted in Rants.

Leave a Reply

