Miss me?

I’m going to be 44 one month from today, and my mom is still telling me what to do.  I was talking to her yesterday and she said, “Do you know I haven’t gotten a new blog post in my e-mail in two weeks?”  I was pretty sure it wasn’t that long, but I looked and sure enough, it had been two weeks.  Everyone, say Hi to my mom!  And stay tuned:  I have orders to post some of Vicky’s senior pictures here.

It’s been exciting around here.  It’s been fairly well documented on Facebook, but not all my friends are on there or check their pages as compulsively as I do.  We’ve been busy at work, but nothing blogworthy has happened.  Or maybe it has but I’m desensitized.

Last weekend I peeled, sliced, canned, froze, and dehydrated 25 lbs of peaches.  (Eric helped me; I didn’t actually do it all myself.)

This weekend I got the bright idea of getting bed risers to raise my desk.  Good theory, maybe not so good on execution.  First I bought risers that were too tall, so I went back for the shorter ones.  They’re better, but maybe still a little too tall.  My chair is all the way up, and it’s a little on the short side.  A blanket added for a little boost seems to do the trick for now, but I think I need to go back to the drawing board, and it looks like I’ll have two sets of risers to return instead of one.

Also in the excitement for this weekend, Vicky took first place in a baking contest yesterday.  She was sponsored by the The Day Job (she works there, too, on weekends) and made pumpkin bars with homemade caramel frosting and garnished with bacon.  Not only did she win the contest with it, we sold half of them in the shop yesterday, and we rarely do desserts on Saturday.  We’ll be making them for Thanksgiving.  Sorry, I can’t share the recipe unless the boss gives me permission.

So that’s what’s been going on here.  What’s new with you?

2 comments on “Miss me?

  1. Joy Boots (Mom) says:

    Welcome back, Honey.

    Love, Mom

  2. Jean says:

    You had me on the pumpkin bars until you mentioned the bacon garnish. What IS it with bacon on everything these days? 🙂 Despite that, huge congrats to Vicky! Way to go, Girl.

    Bummer on the desk adjustment problem. I hope you figure something out.

Leave a Reply

