“You mustn’t be afraid to dream a little bigger, darling.”

Alex and I went to see “Inception” last night.  It was cool and I enjoyed it, but honestly, I’m still processing it.  There were a lot of twists and some of the concepts are a little mind bending.  There was enough romance to keep girls interested and enough explosions and gun fire for the guys.  My favorite line was, “You mustn’t be afraid to dream a little bigger, darling.”  It was a great chick line, but it was spoken by a guy who then pulls out a grenade launcher.  Made me laugh!

On the way home, Alex said he might have to go see it again, but I wasn’t too sure I wanted to go there.  Today I thought better of it and might see it again before it ends its run here.  I’m pretty sure I’ll buy the DVD.    The thing I liked best about it was that the plot isn’t the tired out ‘we must do X before Y destroys the world’ plot.  The whole movie was based on getting one man to change his mind and to make him think it was his idea all along.  There was danger involved, but only to a few people, not to all of humanity.  I don’t see enough movies to say definitively that the plot was original, but it was original to me.  If nothing else, it was a good evening escape, and most movies are too ‘brain fluff’ to truly make me immerse myself in it.  In fact, only two others before “Inception” have made me do that.  (“Lady Hawk” and “Out Of Africa”.)

It’s odd how single sentences have been striking me lately.  I’ve had a couple a month lately.  I wanted to use this line as my screen saver on my computer, but it’s too long.  The OLD Windows would have done it, but not the new one.  Sad face, as my daughter would say.  I settled for writing it on an index card.  I have a spare bulletin board that I think I’ll hang up to collect these lines.  I might never have occasion to use them in my writing specifically.  It’s enough, I think, to have them there as inspiration.  After all, who doesn’t sometimes need to be encouraged to dream a little bigger?

This entry was posted in Movies.

Leave a Reply

