decaffed

Eric and I happened to be out shopping around lunchtime on Saturday and decided to stop at the mall food court to eat.  For the first time, I think, in my adult life I chose lemonade to drink because it sounded good.  Halfway through our meal I realized that I’m no longer making choices based on my next caffeine fix.  I don’t have to plan ahead to make sure I can prevent the headache or crash.   I can’t help wondering, though, if caffeine addiction is like alcoholism.  Will I ever be able to enjoy a cappuccino again, or am I doomed to stand outside Starbucks breathing deeply for the rest of my life?

One comment on “decaffed

  1. Jean says:

    I don’t know the answer to that question, but I’m glad you were able to pick a lemonade as a drink because it was the drink you wanted and not the drink you “had to have.”

Leave a Reply

