Various and sundry

It’s been a while since I posted a general update, so here goes:

It’s been 3 1/2 months since my last cup of coffee.  I’m down to 2-3 cups of green tea in the morning, and maybe one in the afternoon if it’s overcast or rainy.  I do drink iced tea when I go out to eat and at work, and I still get a little caffeine now and then from chocolate.  It’s been a good couple of weeks since I got a withdrawal headache.  I think the worst is behind me, but I almost caved the other night when Eric and I were at Olive Garden for dinner and the waitress walked by with a cappuccino.  Almost.  Overall, I feel better.  I’m more clear-headed when I get up, and lately my brain wakes up with the first cup of tea.  The second cup isn’t a full cup; it’s topping up my cup with hot water and steeping the bag a little more.  Lately I’ve been drinking Republic of Tea’s blueberry green tea, and I don’t bother fishing out the bag until I’m done with the cup.  That makes the first cup the strongest.

Alex was home for a few weeks and has gone back to school for the summer semester.  It took no time at all to get used to seeing the door to the guest room closed, and it’s taking me some time to get used to seeing it open again.  While he was here he mowed the lawn twice, cleaned the garage, and did dishes without being asked.  Yes, I’m a proud mama.

My crazy work schedule has calmed down.  I’m only working my regular days this week, which feels strange and almost vacation-like after the last month.  What that means for me on a personal level is more writing time, which I need right now if I’m going to have a story to pitch in September at the ACFW conference.  I’d like to have two but I’m not sure I’ll make it.  Next weekend I’m going to Mom’s to meet with the bookstore owner about my signing in August, and the following weekend the first of the Boys gets here for the reunion.  Basically, I have about ten days, then two weeks of chaos, and then a few more weeks before the conference.  Two books might very well be pushing it.

I found someone local who knows how to spin and weave.  I’m very excited.  I did a class last week to learn to use my drop spindle, and my teacher actually knew the history of spinning, which was really great.  It’s something I can work into my writing with confidence, and it’s actually very relaxing.  I’m thinking at some point I might get a spinning wheel and keep it in my office.  When I’m stuck with a plot I can spin for a while and think things through without getting too distracted.  That’s down the road, though.  Spinning wheels aren’t cheap.

So that’s it in a nutshell.  Nothing too exciting, but enough to keep me out of trouble.

Leave a Reply

