Honest feedback

I briefly mentioned back in March that I was going to enter part of “Still Gracie Mac” in a contest.  I didn’t make the first cut, which was not unexpected.  I got my judges’ scores back yesterday and while they had plenty to criticize, they did it nicely, and for the most part they were dead on.  One of them wrote at the bottom of the first page the he/she couldn’t wait to read more, which made me smile.  I have a much clearer idea of what I need to be working on now, and I hope to be joining a crit group soon.  In the meantime, I’ll be going over my notes from the conference last month and overhauling Gracie and the still unnamed war widow story.

It’s making me smile to have something to really work on, rather than dithering over the same things.  Right now, I can hardly wait for the conference in September.

This entry was posted in Writing.

Leave a Reply

